Local Council

Election of councillors to Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council

Normally, local council elections are held every 3 out of 4 years.  Following a review of Knowsley wards by the Boundary Commission for England, Kirkby now has 4 local council wards, instead of the 6 wards it had before the elections which took place on Thursday 5th May 2016.  As a result of this boundary change, all 12 Kirkby seats (3 per ward) on Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council were up for election.

In 2016 you had the opportunity to caste up to 3 votes for up to 3 different candidates.  The candidates for the election were announced on 7th April, and the official statement of persons nominated can be found at the top of the Knowsley Council election webpage.  You can also view our 2016 ward pages (below) which include the outcome of the elections and the statements provided by the candidates.

The four new wards have the same names as four of the wards they replace, but the boundaries are different.  Following the May 2016 election your councillors are (links are to Knowsley Council councillor profiles):

The new ward boundaries can be viewed here: